Google this month announced that is removing channels from the YouTube Partner Program (YPP) due to duplication. Channel owners are being notified with the duplicated content with “the opportunity to remove or update their content and reapply in 30 days.”
“The spirit of this YPP policy is to make sure Google is only allowing channels into the program when the content adds value and is original and relevant.”Jordan, from YouTube
According to Google, If users upload content from multiple sources or repurpose existing content, they can still be eligible for YPP so long as users are contributing to the value of that content in some way. Examples: add significant original commentary, educational value, narrative, or high-quality editing.
Content removed as duplication
- Appears to be automatically generated;
- Pulled from third party sources with no content or narrative added by the creator;
- Uploaded many times by multiple users and you’re not the original uploader;
- Uploaded in a way that is trying to get around Google’s copyright tools.