Facebook this month rolled out an update that makes Facebook Groups public or private. Before Facebook Groups could be public, closed or secret.
Facebook says that reducing to two options – public or private – will help make it clearer about who can find the group and see the members and posts that are part of it.
Public groups allow anyone to see who’s in the group and everything that’s shared there. With private groups, only members can see who else is in the group and what they’ve posted.
Admins can still choose whether the group can be found in search and other places. Facebook just separate the privacy settings for posts and group membership from the overall discoverability of the group.
A group that was formerly “secret” will now be “private” and “hidden.” A group that was formerly “closed” will now be “private” and “visible.” Groups that are “public” will remain “public” and “visible.”