Google on October 15, 2026 posted a change to how advertisers obtain certification for online gambling ads, adding an application route inside the Google Ads interface itself. Until now, the process ran through a form in the Google Ads Help Center. According to Google, the new option will appear "gradually" from October 2026, starting with some advertisers, and the Help Center route remains available.

In Short

Google is letting gambling advertisers ask for permission to run their ads from inside their own Google Ads account, instead of only through a separate help page form. It matters to casinos, sportsbooks and the agencies that run their accounts, because certification is the gate they must pass before any gambling ad can serve. Nothing changes for anyone already certified or waiting on an answer, and the old form still works.

What the notice says

The update appears on Google's Advertising Policies Help Center under the heading "Update to the Google Ads certification process (October 2026)". The change log entry at the bottom of the page reads "(Posted on October 15, 2026)". It carries no separate effective date beyond the month.

According to Google, "In October 2026, Google will gradually introduce the ability for some advertisers to apply for the following certifications in their Google Ads account". The list that follows contains a single item: online gambling.

The phrasing matters. A bulleted list with one entry, introduced as "the following certifications", reads like a structure built to grow. Google does not say which other certifications might follow, and the notice gives no schedule beyond October. Any expansion to other categories is therefore an inference from the page's layout, not something Google states.

The rollout is staggered. Google writes that "This feature will be released incrementally to all advertisers over a period of time, and not all advertisers and certification applications will be affected immediately." No end date is given for the phased release, and the notice does not explain how Google selects the first accounts.

For advertisers who do receive the feature, two routes will coexist. According to the notice, "Affected advertisers will have the option to either continue to apply for certifications via the Google Ads Help Centre or their Google Ads account in 'Admin' under a new 'Policy > Account' section." The page uses the British spelling "Centre" in that sentence, while the AI summary at the top of the same page writes "Help Center".

Existing holders are untouched. Google states: "Please note that existing certifications that an advertiser holds and pending applications will not be affected by this incremental launch." The notice links to a separate page titled "How to apply for certifications in your Google Ads account", whose contents were not part of the material reviewed for this article.

An AI summary sits above the policy text

The page opens with a box labelled "Summarized by Google AI" and marked Beta. That summary states that "Starting October 2026, Google is updating the certification process for online gambling" and that advertisers "will gradually gain the ability to apply for these certifications directly within their Google Ads account under the Admin section instead of only through the Help Center."

Below it, Google offers three suggested questions for its support agent, including "Why is the certification section not appearing in my account?" The presence of that prompt anticipates the confusion a phased rollout tends to produce, when two advertisers in the same agency see different interfaces.

The summary and the policy text agree on substance. Google's own disclaimer on the page also notes that the English version "is the official language used to enforce Google Ads policies."

What the change does and does not touch

The update concerns the submission channel, not the rules. Nothing in the notice alters which countries accept gambling ads, what licences are required, or what landing pages must display. It moves the front door, and leaves the house as it was.

That distinction is significant because Google has spent much of 2026 tightening the substance. On January 22, Google announced that accounts seeking gambling certification would need to show "good policy health", a requirement that took effect on March 23 and also cut off manager accounts with a significant volume of revoked gambling certificates from applying for new online gambling certificates. That same change barred certification for sites on free hosting platforms and for sub-domains of third-party hosts.

Then, from August 26, new application forms required a separate application for each country and barred a single account from holding both online gambling and social casino certifications. The same update required licensee names and licence numbers in landing page footers, prominent footer statements from unlicensed affiliate sites, and immediate recertification after any material change. Google did not define "material".

The October notice names only "online gambling". Social casino games, which Google certifies through a separate application, do not appear in the list, and neither does any other category that requires certification.

Per-country applications meet an in-account form

The per-country rule is where an in-account route could make the most practical difference. An operator licensed in several markets must now file one application per country. Doing that through a Help Center form, outside the account it applies to, adds steps that an interface tied to the account itself could reduce.

Google does not make that argument in the notice, however, and it publishes no figures on application volumes, review times or rejection rates. Whether the in-account route speeds anything up is not addressed.

Agentic certification was promised in April

The notice is the first visible step towards something Google described earlier in the year. On April 21, 2026, Google said its Ads Advisor would gain three agentic safety features, including instant certifications. Under that plan, the assistant would identify when a certification is required based on industry and country, then grant it or help submit it in one click. Google said the features would arrive "in the coming months", initially for English-language accounts.

The October page does not mention Ads Advisor. It does, however, place an "Ask our AI agent" prompt directly beneath the summary, which links the certification topic to Google's broader push towards agentic AI inside its advertising products. Whether the new "Policy > Account" section is the surface those one-click certifications will use is not stated.

Why gambling advertisers are watching

Gambling sits among the most heavily gated categories in Google's advertising system, and it is one of the sensitive categories publishers can choose to block. Google classifies gambling violations as "egregious", which allows immediate suspension without prior warning, a point PPC Land documented in its coverage of the November 2025 expansion of offline gambling restrictions.

Certification is also becoming more valuable, because the number of places a certified gambling advertiser can buy is growing. From October 21, 2026, certified online gambling advertisers can run ads in the YouTube Masthead, the reservation slot at the top of the YouTube homepage. Google gave 14 days' notice of that change on October 7. The same day, Colombia opens to a new product: Google said on October 5 that online lottery ads from CNJSA-authorized entities will be accepted from October 21, with all advertisers required to apply for certification.

The certification gate does not apply equally everywhere in Google's stack. On August 10, 2026, Google dropped the end-advertiser certification requirement for gambling ads in 37 markets on Authorized Buyers, its programmatic buying channel, while stating that Google Ads gambling rules, including certification, were unchanged. The October notice confirms the direction for Google Ads: certification stays, and Google is changing where advertisers file for it.

Prediction markets follow their own track. Google opened that category on January 21, 2026 only for CFTC-designated exchanges and NFA-registered brokers, with separate applications for each location. Since then, Google has excluded state after state, and on October 7 it banned prediction market ads in Connecticut, the fifth US state excluded. The October certification notice does not mention prediction markets.

The Admin section has been getting busier

The location Google chose for the new section is the account's "Admin" area, which has seen several governance changes this year. In July, PPC Land reported that Google Ads had begun asking for a written justification and a second administrator's approval before removing another user's access, a workflow with no obvious path for accounts that have only one admin. Google Ads also began requiring passkeys for sensitive actions from July 15, 2026.

On July 21, Google ended the ability to appeal policy decisions older than six months directly from a Google Ads account, posting and enforcing the change on the same day.

Placing certification under "Admin" rather than in campaign settings implies that the account administrator, not every user with campaign access, will handle applications. The notice does not specify which access levels can see or use the "Policy > Account" section. For agencies that manage gambling clients through manager accounts, that detail is relevant, since Google's March rules already tie certification eligibility to the revocation history of the manager account above.

Open questions

Several points are left unaddressed by the notice. It does not say:

  • which advertisers are in the first phase, or how they are chosen;
  • when the phased rollout will reach all advertisers;
  • whether applications filed in the account and through the Help Center are reviewed in the same queue, on the same timelines;
  • which user roles can access the new "Policy > Account" section;
  • whether social casino games or other certified categories will be added to the list, and when.

The single bullet point under "the following certifications" is the clearest signal that the list may grow. Until Google updates the page, online gambling is the only certification the new section is documented to handle.

Timeline

Summary

Who: Google, and advertisers that need certification to run online gambling ads on Google Ads, including operators, affiliates and the agencies managing their accounts.

What: Google is adding an option to apply for online gambling certification inside the Google Ads account, under Admin > Policy > Account, alongside the existing Help Center application. Existing certifications and pending applications are not affected, and online gambling is the only certification listed.

When: The notice was posted on October 15, 2026. The feature reaches some advertisers gradually from October 2026, with no end date given for the full rollout.

Where: Google Ads, worldwide, through the account's Admin area. The notice names no country limits for the new route.

Why: Google does not give a reason in the notice. The change follows a year of tighter gambling certification rules, including per-country applications from August 26, 2026, and an April 2026 plan for one-click certifications through Ads Advisor.