Amazon told third-party merchants in a Seller Central announcement posted in late August 2026 that, from August 31, a Fulfilled by Merchant offer breaching performance thresholds would be temporarily switched off on its own, leaving the rest of the catalogue and the seller's overall Account Health untouched. The thread drew 16 replies, 347 views and more negative than positive reactions.

In Short

Amazon used to punish a seller's whole account when one self-shipped listing missed its delivery or cancellation targets. Now only that single listing gets switched off, and the seller gets a warning email naming the metric that failed before it happens. If you sell on Amazon and ship your own orders, a bad week on one product no longer threatens everything else you sell, but that one product is easier to lose.

What the announcement says

The notice appeared under the News_Amazon account in the News and Announcements section of Amazon's United States Seller Central forums, carrying the title Review Account Health updates for FBM offers. Amazon frames the change as protective. "We're improving how we handle policy violations for your Fulfilled by Merchant (FBM) offers to help protect your selling account," the post states.

The operative sentence sets both the date and the mechanism. According to Amazon, from August 31, 2026, any FBM offer that puts a seller's Account Health at risk will be temporarily deactivated. The company describes the prior arrangement in one line: listings failing required metrics put the entire account at risk. Under the revised model, only the affected offer is deactivated, while other active listings and the overall Account Health score are not impacted.

Two procedural details accompany the change. Amazon commits to sending a warning email before any offer is deactivated, containing details on the issue and the steps needed to resolve it. Deactivated offers surface inside the Account Health dashboard, under a section labelled Other Policy Violations, which also carries the reactivation instructions.

The post is short. It runs to roughly 150 words, links to four policy help pages, and does not link to a dedicated help article explaining the new behaviour itself.

The four metrics that decide

Amazon names the policies it evaluates when deciding whether an offer should be deactivated: Cancellation Rate, Late Shipment Rate, Order Defect Rate and On-Time Delivery Rate. Each is an existing seller performance metric with its own published threshold and its own help page, and all four measure order execution rather than product attributes.

Order Defect Rate is the most consequential of the four in account terms. It aggregates negative feedback, A-to-Z Guarantee claims and credit card chargebacks against a one percent threshold, and crossing that line has historically carried selling-privilege consequences. On-Time Delivery Rate runs on a rolling 14-day window and, for standard shipping, sits at a 90 percent threshold. Cancellation Rate and Late Shipment Rate capture seller-initiated order cancellations and shipments confirmed after the expected ship date.

What changes is not the metric definitions but the unit of enforcement. All four are calculated across a seller's orders and then, under the new model, attributed back to the specific offer that generated the failing events.

That attribution is the part sellers contested first.

Sellers push back on the logic and the notice

The thread's most endorsed reply came from an account posting as Seller_r9wMm8LrE5iKj, which drew nine positive reactions and no negative ones. The reply raises four separate objections and none of them concern whether offer-level enforcement is preferable in principle.

The first is about volume sensitivity. That seller argues that because most third-party products are not high-velocity items, a single defect of any kind could be enough to remove a listing, and reads the design as pressure toward Fulfillment by Amazon. The second is definitional: the post asks whether temporarily means for however long the defect would otherwise have weighed on the account as a whole. The third is documentary, questioning why the announcement arrived without either full explication or an accompanying help page.

The fourth is contractual. That seller characterises the gap between the announcement and the effective date as roughly two hours of notice rather than the 15 days the seller says Amazon's terms of service require for platform changes, adding: "It's not a contract if one side wipes their backsides with it." Amazon's Business Solutions Agreement was itself restructured earlier in 2026, with an updated version and a new Agent Policy taking legal effect on March 4. The announcement thread contains no reply addressing the notice-period claim.

A second objection targets the attribution model directly. An account posting as Seller_kWzASERYhgus6 sets out the chain: if an order is shipped late, cancelled, defective or delivered late, the new system treats the SKU as the root cause rather than the order data, the carrier, or the circumstances of that shipment. The reply ends flatly. "Order defects are NOT SKU DEFECTS."

The objection is not rhetorical. A late shipment can originate in a carrier delay, a warehouse staffing gap or an address problem, none of which is a property of the item being sold. Attributing the failure to the offer produces a clean enforcement target at the cost of conflating the thing measured with the thing penalised, and Amazon's post does not explain how it separates offer-specific causes from account-wide or carrier-wide ones.

Support for the change also appears in the thread. An account posting as Seller_Ggt6s7zXEwLbA calls it a good policy and argues it should extend to FBA offers, noting that violations arrive from unexpected directions, sometimes years after a product has been selling and sometimes from malicious third parties. That reply also proposes a different priority: reducing the number of issues that generate violations at all, and with it the administrative time sellers spend on them.

A fourth reply, from Seller_1ZjQmvBmVkYSs, asks whether the scope extends beyond performance metrics, using a transparency code violation as the test case. Amazon's announcement lists four performance policies and no product compliance policies, so the question sits outside what the post answers.

The same seller predicted this in July

The handle Seller_r9wMm8LrE5iKj appears in an earlier Amazon policy thread with a prediction that reads differently now.

In July 2026, Amazon removed seller performance as a standalone eligibility check before an offer could compete for the Featured Offer, the placement sellers still call the Buy Box. In the forum discussion attached to that change, the same account speculated that eligibility criteria would shift away from whether a seller could win the Buy Box and toward whether the seller could sell at all.

Six weeks later, performance metrics returned as a gate on whether an individual offer stays live. The two changes are not formally connected, and Amazon has not described them as a pair. Placed side by side, though, they move performance signals out of the placement auction and into the question of listing existence, which is the sequence that seller described.

Featured Offer loss remains an open complaint among merchant-fulfilled sellers independently of either change. A thread displayed alongside the announcement, opened roughly a month earlier by Seller_p3OiquiCWjP4n and titled FBM listings are getting no Featured Offers, reports that 95 percent of the affected listings were merchant-fulfilled, with no indication of excessive pricing or weak delivery times.

A precedent from February

Offer-level narrowing is not new to Amazon's seller enforcement. It is the second application of the same idea inside seven months.

On February 28, 2026, Amazon stopped deactivating every seller-fulfilled listing when a seller's On-Time Delivery Rate fell below 90 percent, switching instead to removing only the listings most responsible for dragging the metric down. That policy carried a graduated structure: for sellers in the 60 to 80 percent band, listings below the 80 percent threshold were deactivated first with immediate reactivation available, and further listings could follow if the rate did not recover above 80 percent within 30 days. It also set out protections tied to Shipping Settings Automation, Automated Handling Time and the purchase of protected labels through Amazon Buy Shipping or Veeqo.

The August change generalises that approach from one metric to four. It does not, in the published text, replicate the graduated bands, the 30-day recovery window, or the protection mechanics that accompanied the February version. Whether those carry over is not stated.

A discrepancy over when this starts

The two public accounts of the change do not agree on its timing.

Amazon's own post names August 31, 2026. A LinkedIn summary published on September 12 by Vanessa Hung, an e-commerce strategist whose marketplace analysis PPC Land has cited since 2025, opens by stating that the change is arriving this month, placing it in September. Her post otherwise tracks the announcement closely, listing the same four metrics and the same warning-email sequence.

Hung characterises the historical model in operational terms, writing that one offer with bad metrics put the whole account at risk, so sellers pulled listings quickly to protect everything else. Her reading of the redesign is that Amazon is separating the signal from the account so that enforcement matches the actual source of the problem.

The discrepancy is worth stating rather than resolving. Amazon's post carries the authoritative date. A September framing is consistent with the possibility of a staged rollout after the stated start, which the announcement neither confirms nor rules out, and is equally consistent with a summary written twelve days after the fact.

Where the advertising money sits

Sponsored Products budgets are committed against a live offer, not against an account. That is the structural reason a seller-performance policy belongs in an advertising publication at all.

Under the previous model, a metric failure that escalated to account level halted everything at once: every campaign, every ASIN, the entire onsite retail media programme. Under the new model, the blast radius shrinks and the frequency plausibly rises. A single deactivated offer takes its campaigns, its ranking position and its accumulated conversion history offline while the rest of the account continues spending.

The trade that follows is real but unevenly distributed. A brand running hundreds of merchant-fulfilled listings absorbs a single-offer deactivation as noise. A seller whose revenue concentrates in a handful of items experiences the same event as a near-total outage, which is the substance of the low-velocity objection raised in the thread. Amazon's announcement does not disclose how many offers it expects the change to affect, and no figure for FBM deactivation volume appears in the source material.

Budget pacing is the second-order effect. Campaign spend that cannot deliver against a deactivated offer either fails to spend or redistributes toward remaining SKU coverage, depending on campaign structure, and neither outcome is visible as a line item labelled enforcement. The warning email is the only advance signal Amazon commits to providing, and the announcement does not specify how far ahead of deactivation it arrives.

For merchants who outsource fulfilment to a 3PL rather than shipping in-house, the attribution question sharpens further, since the party generating the late shipment and the party holding the offer are not the same business.

The 2026 sequence this belongs to

The announcement sits inside a year of continuous adjustment to seller obligations, most of it moving toward tighter mechanics with occasional administrative relief.

Mandatory prepaid return labels took effect for all US seller-fulfilled orders on February 8, 2026, ending the high-value exemption. Review sharing across product variations began phased restriction on February 12The updated Business Solutions Agreement and Agent Policy took legal effect on March 4FBA commingling ended on March 31, forcing resellers onto FNSKU barcodes. Seller Fulfilled Prime speed thresholds tightened from July 6, raising the one-day delivery promise requirement to 40 percent of Prime customer page views from 30 percent.

Recourse mechanisms have moved more slowly. Amazon introduced Seller Challenge in October 2025 for Account Health Assurance participants, granting three challenges per six-month period against enforcement decisions that survived a standard appeal, with a 48-hour review commitment. That programme sits downstream of a failed appeal and covers enforcement actions rather than the metric calculations that produce them. Star-only seller feedback, introduced in July 2025, removed the written comment requirement and closed the standard appeal route for ratings submitted without text, which narrowed the options for contesting an Order Defect Rate input.

Sellers in the announcement thread are reacting against that history rather than against the policy text in isolation. The forum sidebar makes the point without argument: the threads Amazon's own system surfaced as similar include an account deactivated over a counterfeit violation with two rejected appeals, and an appeal under review since July 29 despite two Account Health escalations.

What the announcement does not say

Several operational questions remain unanswered in the published material.

The duration of a temporary deactivation is undefined. No threshold values appear, so the announcement does not state at what point a metric moves from acceptable to deactivation-triggering at offer level, nor whether those thresholds differ from the account-level ones. The interval between warning email and deactivation is unspecified. No graduated structure equivalent to the February OTDR bands is described. Scope beyond the four named performance policies is not addressed, which leaves the transparency code question raised in the thread open. And the absence of a linked help page, flagged by the top-voted reply, means the four policy pages Amazon does link describe the metrics rather than the new enforcement behaviour applied to them.

Reaction counts on the post itself are the clearest available measure of reception. Three sellers marked it positively. Six marked it negatively. Across 16 replies and 347 views, that ratio sits alongside a set of objections that are procedural rather than ideological: sellers in the thread are not defending account-level punishment.

Timeline

Summary

Who: Amazon, through the News_Amazon account on its United States Seller Central forums, addressing third-party merchants who fulfil their own orders. Sellers posting as Seller_r9wMm8LrE5iKj, Seller_kWzASERYhgus6, Seller_Ggt6s7zXEwLbA and Seller_1ZjQmvBmVkYSs replied. Vanessa Hung, an e-commerce strategist, published a separate summary on LinkedIn.

What: A change to how policy violations are enforced on Fulfilled by Merchant offers. An offer that puts Account Health at risk is temporarily deactivated on its own, with other listings and the overall Account Health score unaffected, replacing a model in which failing listings put the entire account at risk. Cancellation Rate, Late Shipment Rate, Order Defect Rate and On-Time Delivery Rate are the four policies evaluated. A warning email precedes deactivation, and deactivated offers appear under Other Policy Violations in the Account Health dashboard.

When: Announced on Seller Central in late August 2026, effective August 31, 2026. The forum thread had accumulated 347 views and 16 replies by mid-September. A LinkedIn summary dated September 12, 2026 describes the change as starting this month, which does not match Amazon's stated date.

Where: Amazon's United States marketplace, administered through the Account Health dashboard in Seller Central.

Why: Amazon frames the change as protecting the selling account by confining enforcement to the offer that generated the failing metric. Sellers in the thread accept the principle while disputing the notice period, the undefined meaning of temporary, the absence of a help page, and the attribution of order-level failures to a SKU. For advertisers, the change converts a rare account-level outage into a more frequent listing-level one, since Sponsored Products spend, ranking position and conversion history attach to the offer rather than the account.