Cint today said it is working with Potloc to develop and test a Model Context Protocol server for its research and measurement platform, and disclosed a single automated run that configured a 20-market consumer banking study on the Cint Exchange in one pass.
The announcement, made on 1 September 2026, describes a collaboration rather than a product release. There is no general availability date, no pricing, no tool count and no named client software. What the statement does contain is one operational figure, and that figure carries more weight than the framing around it.
According to Cint, Potloc is already running the MCP server inside its day-to-day sampling workflow. The company said that in the week before the announcement, a single automated run set up a 20-market consumer banking study on the Cint Exchange, covering 20 target groups, each with its own locale, feasibility check and bid, in one pass. That work, according to Cint, previously meant configuring each market by hand in the console.
The release does not date that run. "Last week" relative to a 1 September announcement places it somewhere between roughly 24 and 30 August 2026, but the statement gives no calendar date, no study identifier and no comparison figure for how long the manual equivalent took. A claim of one pass against twenty manual configurations is the entire commercial argument here, and it arrives without a stopwatch attached to either side.
What the server is meant to do
The Cint MCP is built on the open Model Context Protocol standard, the specification Anthropic published in November 2024 and later donated to a Linux Foundation fund. It defines how a language model discovers what an external system can do and then invokes it. Cint said the server will let users carry out research and measurement workflows using natural language prompts through the large language models of their choice, with the AI agent translating intent into action.
On the research side, Cint listed a lifecycle rather than a feature set: defining audiences through plain-language prompts, evaluating feasibility across markets, receiving pricing guidance, creating and launching studies, monitoring fieldwork and optimising projects in real time. On the measurement side, the company said it is exploring how MCP-enabled workflows could make it easier to activate measurement studies, monitor in-flight performance and generate tailored insights at scale.
The verb tenses differ between those two paragraphs, and the difference is worth noting. Research capabilities are described as being developed. Measurement capabilities are described as being explored. For a company whose measurement business has been the more visible half of its advertising story over the past year, that is a meaningful ordering.
"AI is quickly changing how businesses access information, make decisions, and execute workflows, and we believe research and measurement need to be available within those environments," said Lindsay Fordham, SVP Product at Cint. "By working directly with customers such as Potloc as we develop the Cint MCP, we can build around real-world needs and create a more intuitive way for AI systems to access verified human and media intelligence."
Cint also said the MCP complements its existing API and platform interfaces rather than replacing them, giving customers another way to reach the same underlying technology. That is a conventional position for a vendor shipping an agent interface, and it is also the position that determines how much of the platform an agent can actually touch. An MCP server is only as capable as the surface it wraps.
Read, write, or both
The most consequential technical question in agentic AI infrastructure is whether an agent can only look or can also act, and Cint did not address it directly. The details in the release, however, point one way.
Configuring 20 target groups with locale, feasibility check and bid is not a read operation. Feasibility checks query the supply side; bids commit to a price. Describing fieldwork managers who "draft, price and validate target groups" describes an agent writing into a sampling workflow. If the Potloc example is accurate as written, the Cint MCP already carries write capability against the Cint Exchange, at least in the sampling path.
"We've embedded the Cint MCP directly into our sampling workflows: our fieldwork managers draft, price and validate target groups conversationally, in a fraction of the time," said Mathieu Dussart, Director of Sampling Strategy at Potloc. "Working with Cint at this stage means the tool is being shaped around how research teams actually operate."
That places Cint on the more permissive side of a line the industry has been drawing carefully. Google released an open-source MCP server for its Ads API on 7 October 2025 with read-only access to reporting and diagnostics. Amazon Ads ran a closed beta from 13 November 2025 before moving to open beta on 2 February 2026. Adform published 29 read-only skills against its FLOW demand-side platform. When X shipped its ads MCP server on 24 August 2026, it exposed 23 tools, ten of which write to live accounts, and every agent-created campaign starts paused. Meta went furthest, carrying write access from the first day and later opening its ads MCP to any developer on 16 July 2026.
The distinction matters differently for a sampling exchange than for a media buying platform. A misconfigured campaign spends money on impressions. A misconfigured sample buys the wrong respondents, and the resulting error does not surface as a line item. It surfaces as a finding.
Neither Cint nor Potloc disclosed what approval gates, if any, sit between an agent's proposed target group and a committed bid. No paused-by-default behaviour is described. No audit trail is described. No spend cap is described. The release says fieldwork managers validate target groups, which implies a human in the loop, but validation performed conversationally inside the same interface that generated the configuration is a weaker control than an explicit approval step outside it.
Eight days after the exit
The timing sits close to a corporate event. Cint said on 24 August 2026 that its take-private transaction had completed, closing a four-month process that began with a SEK 5.60 per share cash offer from a consortium led by Triton Partners. The last day of trading in Cint shares on Nasdaq Stockholm was 7 August 2026.
In that announcement, Cint named three areas of accelerated investment under private ownership. The first was AI-native tools and workflows built into how research is designed, fielded and delivered. The second was trusted human intelligence made easier to access, integrate and activate inside the platforms customers already use. The MCP announcement, arriving eight days later, is the first visible product expression of both.
It is also the first Cint product announcement that no longer carries a quarterly disclosure behind it. The company's take-private removed one of the few remaining listed suppliers of survey sampling and advertising effectiveness data from public reporting. Claims about adoption, volume and pricing for the MCP will not be checkable against a filing.
Cint's platform integration strategy through 2026 has been consistent and well documented. The company embedded self-serve brand lift measurement into illumin's campaign setup process in May 2026, announced a Basis partnership on 16 June 2026 placing brand lift studies inside an omnichannel workflow, and merged brand lift and sales lift into a single in-flight dashboard on 17 June 2026. Each of those moves put Cint measurement inside somebody else's interface. The MCP does the same thing for a class of interface rather than for a named partner.
Potloc's side of the arrangement
Potloc has not previously appeared in PPC Land coverage. According to the company, it has worked with more than 500 global firms since 2013 and collected more than 343 million B2B and B2C responses, serving consulting and private equity clients on corporate strategy, due diligence, portfolio monitoring and thought leadership work.
That client base explains why sampling speed matters to it more than to most survey buyers. Due diligence work runs against transaction timetables, and a 20-market feasibility pass that takes a day rather than a week changes what can be promised inside a deal window. It also explains the specific shape of the disclosed test. A consumer banking study across 20 markets is a plausible commercial diligence brief, not a synthetic benchmark.
What Potloc did not disclose is error rate. Twenty target groups configured in one pass is a throughput claim. Whether those 20 groups matched what a fieldwork manager would have specified by hand, and how often the agent's locale mapping or feasibility interpretation required correction, is unaddressed. Neither company published a comparison study.
With Potloc as an early design partner, Cint said it is inviting additional AI-forward companies to be beta partners. No application route, selection criterion, cohort size or timeline appears in the announcement.
Where this sits in the standards contest
Cint's server is a platform-specific MCP implementation, not an entry in the protocol fight sitting one layer above it. That contest remains unresolved. The Ad Context Protocol launched on 15 October 2025 with nine core tasks under an MIT licence, backed by Scope3, Yahoo, PubMatic and others. IAB Tech Lab named its broader umbrella initiative AAMP on 26 February 2026, stacking three pillars across execution, protocols and an agent registry. On 20 August 2026, IAB Tech Lab put the overlap between the two at thirteen functions.
Neither framework currently covers survey sampling or brand measurement as a transaction type. AAMP's protocol components map onto OpenRTB, AdCOM, OpenDirect and the Deals API. AdCP defines product discovery, campaign creation, creative management and optimisation. A research exchange that sells respondent access rather than impressions has no obvious slot in either. Cint building directly on MCP, without an advertising-specific layer, is the pragmatic response to that gap rather than a bet against the standards bodies.
The underlying protocol has also moved. The Model Context Protocol removed sessions entirely in its 2026-07-28 specification, requiring every server call to carry its own complete context. Any MCP server built in advertising this year has been built against a specification that changed materially five weeks ago, and Cint's release does not state which revision its server targets.
What it means for marketers
The immediate audience for a research MCP is not the media buyer. It is the insights function, the strategy team and the agency planners who commission audience work and wait on it. For those groups, the change on offer is a reduction in setup labour, not a change in what the data says.
Two cautions follow from the pattern PPC Land has tracked across the year. The first is that agentic capability and agentic authority are not the same thing. StackAdapt research published on 19 August 2026 found that only 6% of marketers act on in-platform AI recommendations, with the break occurring at the transfer of responsibility for outcomes rather than at model performance. Fluency disclosed in August 2026 that it blocks AI agents from executing against live budgets across roughly three billion dollars in managed spend, a deliberate architectural limit. Sabio and Gentoro said on 26 August 2026 that their agents would run internal campaign management before any self-serve interface reaches advertisers.
The second is cost. KPMG research published in August 2026 found that 49% of surveyed leaders had scaled back agent rollouts when running costs outran the value delivered, with only 35% reporting full visibility into what their AI systems cost to operate. A conversational interface that issues twenty feasibility checks and twenty bids in a single pass consumes tokens on every call, and the release contains no pricing model for the MCP itself.
There is a third consideration specific to research. Sample quality is the product Cint sells, and quality controls in survey sampling have historically depended on human judgement about who qualifies, which sources to trust and where to stop. Moving configuration into a conversational layer does not remove those judgements. It relocates them into a prompt. Whether the relocation preserves them is an empirical question, and the announcement offers no evidence either way.
For advertisers who use Cint measurement indirectly, through illumin, Basis, TripleLift or a demand-side platform that buys lift studies wholesale, none of this changes the delivered product yet. The MCP is a partner-facing interface for study construction. It is not a change to methodology, panel composition or incrementality design. That distinction is worth holding on to as agentic language spreads across measurement vendors, because the word "AI-native" in a measurement context can describe either the interface or the inference, and only one of those affects the number at the end.
Timeline
- November 2024: Anthropic publishes the Model Context Protocol as an open standard, later donating it to a Linux Foundation fund
- 7 July 2025: Google's Ads API team says it is exploring an MCP server for third-party generative AI tools
- 7 October 2025: Google releases an open-source, read-only MCP server for the Google Ads API
- 15 October 2025: Ad Context Protocol launches with nine core tasks and six founding companies
- 3 November 2025: Ari Paparo publishes a critique of AdCP's media buying applications
- 13 November 2025: Amazon Ads opens a closed beta of its MCP server
- 2 February 2026: Amazon Ads moves its MCP server to open beta
- 26 February 2026: IAB Tech Lab names its umbrella agentic initiative AAMP
- 20 March 2026: WordPress.com adds write capabilities to its MCP integration
- 24 March 2026: Kochava puts AAMP into open beta inside StationOne
- May 2026: illumin embeds Cint brand lift measurement into programmatic campaign setup
- 16 June 2026: Basis and Cint place self-serve brand lift studies inside an omnichannel workflow
- 17 June 2026: Cint merges brand lift and sales lift into a single in-flight dashboard
- 16 July 2026: Meta opens its ads MCP server to any developer
- 28 July 2026: The Model Context Protocol removes sessions in its 2026-07-28 specification
- 7 August 2026: Last day of trading in Cint shares on Nasdaq Stockholm
- 19 August 2026: StackAdapt research finds only 6% of marketers act on in-platform AI recommendations
- 20 August 2026: IAB Tech Lab puts the AAMP and AdCP overlap at thirteen functions
- 24 August 2026: Cint confirms completion of its take-private transaction led by Triton Partners
- 24 August 2026: X ships an ads MCP server with 23 tools, ten of them write-capable
- 26 August 2026: Sabio and Gentoro place AI agents inside DSP campaign management, internal use first
- Week of 24 August 2026: Potloc runs a single automated 20-market consumer banking study setup on the Cint Exchange, per Cint
- 1 September 2026: Cint announces the Potloc collaboration and opens beta partner recruitment
Related PPC Land coverage
- Cint exits Nasdaq Stockholm as Triton closes SEK 2bn take-private deal - The 24 August 2026 completion of the take-private, including the three investment priorities Cint named under private ownership.
- Cint merges brand and sales lift into one live dashboard - The June 2026 in-flight outcomes launch inside Lucid Measurement and the exposed/control methodology behind it.
- Basis and Cint bring live brand lift measurement inside omnichannel campaigns - How Cint distributes measurement through partner platforms rather than its own interface.
- illumin embeds Cint brand lift into programmatic campaign setup - The May 2026 integration placing study setup alongside targeting and budget configuration.
- X Ads MCP gives Grok and Claude Code 23 tools to run ad campaigns - The most detailed public breakdown of read versus write tool splits in an advertising MCP server.
- Meta opens ads MCP to any app, cutting integration code to zero - The July 2026 opening of Meta's ads MCP and a chronology of platform adoption.
- MCP forces ad tech to rebuild agent servers as sessions disappear - The 2026-07-28 specification change that removed protocol-level sessions.
- Rival agentic ad protocols overlap on 13 functions, IAB Tech Lab says - The unresolved standards contest sitting above individual platform MCP servers.
- IAB Tech Lab names its agentic ad initiative AAMP to end market confusion - The three-pillar architecture and the protocol components AAMP maps onto existing standards.
- Only 6% of marketers act on in-platform AI recommendations, StackAdapt finds - Survey evidence locating the adoption break at accountability rather than capability.
- Sabio puts Gentoro AI agents into DSP campaign management workflows first - A comparable internal-first sequencing decision announced days earlier.
- Agents burn 5x more tokens than humans as Zapier traffic drops - Token economics and the KPMG finding on scaled-back agent rollouts.
Summary
Who: Cint, the Stockholm-founded research and measurement technology company taken private by a Triton Partners-led consortium in August 2026, and Potloc, a survey platform serving consulting and private equity clients. Lindsay Fordham, SVP Product at Cint, and Mathieu Dussart, Director of Sampling Strategy at Potloc, are the named spokespeople.
What: A collaboration to develop and test a Cint Model Context Protocol server connecting AI agents directly to Cint's research and measurement platform. Potloc is already using the server in production sampling work and configured a 20-market consumer banking study on the Cint Exchange in a single automated run. Cint is recruiting additional beta partners.
When: Announced 1 September 2026. The disclosed Potloc run took place in the preceding week, without a specific date given. No general availability date or beta timeline was published.
Where: The Cint Exchange, with Cint claiming programmatic access to respondents across more than 130 countries. Potloc is headquartered in Montreal and serves clients globally.
Why: Cint named AI-native tools and easier access to its intelligence inside customers' existing platforms as two of three accelerated investment priorities when it completed its take-private on 24 August 2026. The MCP is the first visible product expression of that stated direction, and it places a research exchange inside an agent interface pattern that advertising platforms have adopted through 2025 and 2026 with varying degrees of write access and control.
Discussion