Taboola on September 22, 2026 added an identity layer named Realize ID to Realize, its performance advertising platform. According to Taboola, the offering turns fragmented identifiers into a single, persistent view of consumers who show purchase intent on the open web, and it has already produced an uplift of up to 2.4x on an efficiency measure the company did not define.

In Short

Taboola, a company that places ads and sponsored links on news websites, has built a system that tries to recognise the same shopper as that person reads articles, clicks ads and fills in forms on brand websites. If it works as Taboola describes, advertisers could reach people while they are still comparing banks, insurers or products, the moment when a sale is most in play. Taboola has not published the test data, the countries covered or how personal data is handled, so for now the headline result rests on the company's own word.

What Taboola says it has built

Taboola, which trades on Nasdaq under the ticker TBLA, published the announcement on its press page on Tuesday, September 22, 2026. The document describes the product three slightly different ways. It opens by calling Realize ID a "unified mapping offering", switches to "identity offering" in the next sentence and settles on "unified identity solution" further down. The wording is not a quibble. An identity graph asserts that separate identifiers belong to the same person or household, while a universal identifier such as RampID is a string passed between systems, generated and connected by graphs. Which of the two Realize ID is, or whether it is both, the release does not say.

What it does say is that Realize ID is "a new offering that supports the Realize performance advertising platform", which the company says is fuelled by its access to consumer intent data on the open web. It is not sold as a standalone product. According to Taboola, the system "transforms fragmented identifiers into a single, persistent view of high-intent prospects" and captures intent during what the company terms "active decision mode", defined as "the critical window after they've shown interest but before they've committed elsewhere." Advertisers can then pursue engagements, leads, purchases and site traffic, among other outcomes.

The architectural claim sits in one sentence. "Taboola sits on both sides of the transaction, publisher and advertiser, operating a true closed loop, capturing full-context data on every single visit in real time," according to the company. That position is not new. When Taboola deepened publisher partnerships for Realize in October 2025, it described its code-on-page integrations with publishers as a source of signal unavailable to other open web platforms. Realize ID packages that access as an identity layer.

Taboola illustrates the mechanism with a financial services journey. A consumer reads a finance article on a publisher site, searches for the best bank accounts, views an ad for a credit card and arrives on a landing page to open an account. According to Taboola, Realize ID can help an advertiser understand that sequence as one journey rather than four disconnected events.

Three families of signals

The release lists three categories of Taboola first-party data behind the product. Media consumption signals cover content engagement, scroll depth and time on site. Ad interactions cover ad clicks, video views and specific search keywords. Buying behaviors cover conversion data and mid-funnel actions, with starting a quote given as the example.

Combined, those categories allow Realize ID to understand "billions of complete buyer journeys", according to Taboola, and to use "advanced AI" to connect media consumption with buying behaviour, "predicting intent before it becomes obvious." The opening paragraph credits the 2.4x result to "signal-enriched predicted intent models". No model architecture, training window, refresh frequency or lookback period is described.

Two details in the signal list deserve a closer look. The first is search keywords. They are filed under ad interactions, yet the release never identifies the surface on which those searches take place, and its own finance example includes a search step without saying whether that happens on a publisher site, in a search engine or elsewhere. The navigation on Taboola's press page lists Connexity among its advertiser products and Skimlinks and DeeperDive among its products for digital properties. The release does not say whether any of them feed Realize ID. DeeperDive is Taboola's AI answer engine for publishers, and in July 2026, with DeeperDive at 7 million users, Taboola opened a monetisation layer that lets third-party AI products call on Realize's advertiser demand.

The second detail concerns generative AI. Much of the release's problem statement is about large language models. "A single purchase decision now runs across mail, news, search, price aggregators, and increasingly LLMs," according to Taboola, which adds that generative AI search has become "a new, essential channel for consumers to connect with brands organically and through advertising." Yet none of the three data categories describes signals captured inside a third-party AI assistant. The AI assistant appears in the diagnosis, not in the data.

Reading the 2.4x figure

The headline on Taboola's press page reads "Advertisers See 2.4x Uplift in Conversion Efficiency". The body text is more cautious, stating that the offering "has already driven up to 2.4x increase" on the same measure. An unqualified figure in the headline, then, and a ceiling in the text.

Several elements that would allow the number to be assessed are absent. The release does not state how many advertisers were tested, in which verticals or markets, over what period, or against what baseline. It does not say whether the comparison was Realize campaigns with Realize ID against Realize campaigns without it, or something else entirely. It does not define the efficiency metric, which could mean conversion rate, cost per acquisition or conversions per impression. Even the arithmetic is ambiguous: a "2.4x increase" can be read as an outcome 2.4 times the original, or as the original plus 2.4 times more.

Taboola has used this construction before. When Predictive Audiences reached general availability in June 2025, the company reported conversion improvements of up to 270% for early adopters, naming The Motley Fool, QuinStreet and NerdWallet among them. That product also combined advertiser first-party conversion data with Taboola's network data to find users likely to convert. How Realize ID differs from Predictive Audiences, or whether it replaces or feeds it, is not explained.

Vendor-reported uplift sits at the weakest end of the evidence ladder for incrementality, below randomised holdouts. Identity quality also shapes measured results. Research by LiveRamp and the Marketing + Media Alliance, published on July 20, 2026, modelled a campaign with a true 25% lift being read as roughly 6.8% when half of matched users were linked to the wrong person, with return on investment falling from $1.50 to $0.43 on paper. LiveRamp sells the remedy that study recommends, and the 50% precision scenario was labelled an illustrative lower bound. The broader point still holds: the accuracy of the identity layer changes what any uplift figure means.

What the release does not address

For a product whose purpose is joining identifiers, the release is silent on how the joins are made. It does not say whether matching is deterministic, relying on logins, hashed emails or other authenticated signals, or probabilistic. A device graphbuilt probabilistically typically links identifiers observed together, most often through shared IP addresses, and scores the likelihood that they belong to one person. The release also does not say whether Realize ID produces an identifier that travels outside Realize, for instance in bid requests to other platforms, or whether it functions only as an internal mapping for Taboola's own campaigns.

Commercial and regulatory terms are missing too. There is no pricing, no statement on whether the capability is included in Realize by default, no list of markets and no indication of whether it is generally available or in testing. The word "persistent" carries no retention period. Nothing in the text addresses consent, even though several endorsing companies are based in Spain, Germany and India, jurisdictions with differing data protection regimes.

The relationship to other identity work Taboola has joined is also left open. On April 27, 2026, PayPal named Taboola as one of four launch partners, alongside Magnite, PubMatic and Rokt, agreeing to test PayPal Ads ID, a free deterministic identifier built on more than 25 billion transactions across 400 million PayPal and Venmo accounts. Realize ID's announcement makes no reference to PayPal or to any external identifier.

Two market statistics in the release are presented without named sources in the text. Taboola states that US adults spend nearly 13 hours a day with media and that "70% of consumers now involve generative AI search in shopping decisions." Both link to external pages rather than naming a study. The second figure lands in a crowded field of estimates. NIQ's August 2026 report put AI use in product discovery at 74% while listing a 20% figure in the same set of findings, without reconciling the two. Contentsquare research published on September 2, 2026 found that 36% of consumers said AI had replaced traditional search for at least some shopping. Measured adoption depends heavily on how the question is asked.

Seven endorsements, one mention of the product

The release carries seven statements from advertisers and agencies. They come from Judit Miranda, head of digital marketing at El Corte Inglés; Sascha Arndt, head of performance marketing at Ergo; Sameer Jain, head of e-commerce and D2C business at Axis Max Life Insurance; Subendu Maity, AVP for performance marketing and digital at Motilal Oswal Asset Management; Romain Mandon, digital advertising manager at Allianz; Adam Persinger, head of strategic media at FOUND; and Giacomo Giuriani, business director at Forward, which the release describes as lastminute.com's media marketing company.

Four of the seven are insurers or asset managers. None of the statements contains a number. Six refer to Taboola or Realize in general terms. Jain, for example, says the value lies in the ability to "capture genuine purchase intent, not just casual browsing." Mandon says Realize's "audience segments allow us to reach users with a high probability of converting at the precise moment when interest is strongest." Persinger says "Realize has consistently shown it has the right data to tap into customer intent and connect us to our desired customers."

Only Giuriani names the new product, and his statement looks ahead rather than back. "The launch of Realize ID is an opportunity we're excited to seize, to deliver incremental, measurable results for our clients - beyond traditional search channels," he said, according to the release. So none of the endorsements describes results from Realize ID itself.

Adam Singolda, Taboola's chief executive, framed the product around search. "AI is transforming traditional search behavior, and established channels are hitting efficiency ceilings, making driving incremental growth more difficult than ever," he said. "Realize ID solves for this, using Taboola's unique data advantage, helping performance marketers capture and act on open web intent before it disappears."

A crowded identity layer

Realize ID enters a market with no shortage of identifiers and no settled standard. The urgency that once surrounded cookie deprecation faded after Google said on April 22, 2025 that Chrome would keep third-party cookies, but the underlying problem of recognising people across Safari, apps, connected television and logged-out browsing did not. Ownership of identity infrastructure has shifted in 2026. The Trade Desk changed how it compensates partners in its Identity Alliance in April, moving away from payment based largely on data volume. In May, Publicis agreed to buy LiveRamp for $2.5 billion, placing RampID inside a holding company whose rivals use it. PayPal made its identifier free.

The Video Advertising Bureau's guide of July 29, 2026 set out six questions for identity vendors and recommended that marketers question match quality before signing contracts. Taboola's release answers few of the questions that guide raises.

There is a structural distinction as well. Universal identifiers are built to be shared across platforms. Realize ID, as described, is tied to Realize and to the inventory and conversion data Taboola controls. That makes it closer in shape to the identity systems inside walled gardens, which rely on logged-in users, than to the interoperable identifiers the open web has tried to build. The release does not address interoperability.

Where the product fits in Taboola's year

Realize was rebuilt as Taboola's main advertiser platform in February 2025, and nearly every announcement since has routed back to it. Predictive Audiences followed in June 2025. In December 2025 a connected television tracking partnership with LG Ad Solutions paired LG's automatic content recognition data with Taboola's household graph, so Taboola already ran household-level identity infrastructure before this release. On April 23, 2026, Taboola added Realize+, an agentic system built around a Decision Engine with a Budget Allocator and an Element Generator, and opened Realize to Claude Skills.

Taboola's own research points at the gap Realize ID targets. A survey of 200 senior performance marketers in the United States and United Kingdom, conducted in March 2026 and published in May, found that 71% cited a lack of unified attribution and measurement as a factor limiting open web investment, while 74% cited too many vendors or the complexity of managing multiple partners.

The financial backdrop is mixed. Taboola posted first-quarter 2026 revenue of $466.4 million, up 9.1% year on year. Its second quarter brought revenue of $476.8 million, below the floor of its own guidance, after a Google spam policy change eliminated Explore More, a publisher product Taboola had expected to contribute more than $20 million of ex-TAC gross profit in the second half of 2026.

Two recent moves extend what Realize sells. On August 19, 2026, Taboola took over global programmatic display on NBCNews.com and TODAY.com through Realize, its first expansion with a publisher beyond native placements. On September 18, 2026, four days before Realize ID, it offered to acquire Dianomi, a London-based network serving more than 600 advertisers and publishers in finance and business, including Charles Schwab, Invesco and Bank of America, with publishers such as Reuters and the Wall Street Journal. The deal is expected to close before the end of 2026. The finance example in the Realize ID release and the weight of insurers among its endorsers point the same way. According to Taboola, Realize reaches more than 600 million daily active users across publishers such as NBC News and Yahoo and device makers such as Samsung and Xiaomi.

Why this matters for the marketing community

For performance buyers, the announcement adds another identity layer to evaluate, but one with an unusual property: the company supplying the identity, selling the media and reporting the result is the same. That closed loop is what Taboola presents as the advantage. It is also why the absence of a methodology behind the 2.4x figure matters more than it would for a neutral measurement vendor. What would independent verification of the uplift look like, and will Taboola offer it?

For publishers, the product rests on signals such as scroll depth and time on site gathered on their pages. The release describes how that data serves advertisers. It says nothing about what publishers see, control or earn from its use in an identity layer.

For the wider identity market, Realize ID is another platform-specific answer to a problem universal identifiers were meant to solve collectively. It may improve results inside its own walls while adding to the vendor sprawl that 74% of respondents in Taboola's own survey cited as a brake on open web spending. Which effect dominates depends on details the company has yet to publish.

Timeline

Summary

Who: Taboola (Nasdaq: TBLA), led by chief executive Adam Singolda, with statements from El Corte Inglés, Ergo, Axis Max Life Insurance, Motilal Oswal Asset Management, Allianz, the agency FOUND and Forward, lastminute.com's media marketing company.

What: Realize ID, an identity and mapping layer for the Realize performance advertising platform that, according to Taboola, links fragmented identifiers into a persistent view of high-intent prospects using media consumption, ad interaction and buying behaviour signals. Taboola cites an uplift of up to 2.4x without disclosing methodology, baseline, sample, markets, pricing or consent arrangements.

When: Announced on Tuesday, September 22, 2026, four days after Taboola's offer for Dianomi and five months after Realize+.

Where: Across Taboola's open web network of publishers, apps and device makers, which the company says reaches more than 600 million daily active users. Markets of availability were not stated; endorsing companies are based in Spain, Germany, India and elsewhere.

Why: Taboola argues that purchase journeys now span devices, publishers, search and AI assistants, and that established channels are reaching efficiency limits. Realize ID is its attempt to turn the data it gathers on both the publisher and advertiser side into a persistent view of buyers, at a time when its own survey shows buyers citing fragmented measurement among the main brakes on open web spending.