Google yesterday announced updates to its Location History and Maps features, giving users more control over their location data.
The Timeline feature in Maps will soon be saved on the device, giving users more control over their data. This means that users can delete all or part of their data at any time or disable the setting entirely.
Users who are concerned about losing their data can choose to back up their Timeline to the cloud. Google will encrypt the data so that no one can read it, including Google.
The default auto-delete setting for Location History will be reduced from 18 months to 3 months. Users can still choose to extend the period or turn off auto-delete controls altogether.
Soon, users will be able to see and delete all their recent activity on Maps related to a specific place. This will be useful for deleting activity related to surprise parties or other private events.
The blue dot in Maps will now show key location controls, such as whether Location History or Timeline is turned on and whether Maps has access to the device's location. This will make it easier for users to manage their location data.